Young Playwrights to Hold Awards Ceremony & Performances

Young Playwrights to Hold Awards Ceremony & Performances

Young Playwrights to Hold Awards Ceremony & Performances

Dorset Theatre Festival (DTF) continues its commitment to community, education, and developing new talent and plays with performances from the winners of the Jean E. Miller Young Playwrights Competition at 6:30 p.m. on Wednesday, September 28, at the Manchester Community Library. Winning Young Playwrights in middle and high school categories will receive their awards, followed by readings of the winning plays performed by Bennington College theatre students. The winners of this year’s middle school competition were Gigi Delosantos (Dorset School) and Luke Lehmann and Noah Price (Maple Street School). High school winners were Jenna Staab, Logan Younce and Rowie Budde, all students at Arlington High School.

Commenting on the judging process, DTF’s artistic director Dina Janis said, “We had a National Panel of professional playwrights who read all of the submissions blind and then voted for their first and second choice winners in both categories. They were impressed by all of the submissions and found it very hard to choose these winners! All of the many students who participated, as well as their teachers who encouraged them- should be applauded!”

Sign up for the 2017 competition will be possible at this event. Cookies and refreshments to follow. The Dorset Theatre Festival creates bold and innovative theatre that engages a diverse, multi-generational community. For more information, visit or call 802-867-2223.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.