DTF Presents Young Playwrights

DTF Presents Young Playwrights

DTF Presents Young Playwrights

The Dorset Theatre Festival is proud to present the winners of the 2013 Jean E. Miller Young Playwrights competition on September 13. This year marks the second year of the competition, sponsored in part by the Windham Foundation. Middle and high school students from across southern Vermont were invited to participate in a series of in-classroom and online mentoring and instruction in playwriting, and to generate their very own plays, which were judged by a number of prominent playwrights. The judges this year include several playwrights known across the nation not only for their work onstage but also in television and film. Sherry Kramer returns as a judge for a second year, joined by Sofia Alvarez, Neena Beber, Suzanne Bradbeer, Alex Kilgore and Marisa Smith. Participating schools included Long Trail, Mettawee Community School, Maple Street School, Floodbrook School, Mount Anthony Union Middle School and The Dorset School.

Middle school winners for this year’s competition are Lily Thebault from the Maple Street School, with her play ‘The Last Wish,’ and Sean Bottoms, from Mettawee Community School for his untitled play. Our High School winner is McKenna Bovey from Long Trail School for ‘A House Divided.’

The winners will have their plays staged at the Dorset Playhouse on  September 13 at 7 p.m. Admission is free.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.